University of South Carolina Career Center hosted two job fairs concurrently

The University of South Carolina Career Center connected 1645 students to potential employers at two job fairs held on September 17. Held concurrently, Career Fest and the S.E.T. Fair was held at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center from noon – 4:00p.m.

 

Career Fest is for students and alumni seeking non-technical internship, co-op and full-time positions in the fields of business, arts & sciences, retail, etc. There were 100 employers that recruited at Career Fest, and around 870 students attended the event. “The event was great and informative. Many of the students had exemplary experience and offered a unique energy that could be harnessed in our district,” said a Career Fest employer. A USC student stated, “It’s a great experience and gets students ready. It’s a great way to get internships for the summer and if they are looking for full-time positions they have them too. Plus one can easily lead to the other. I recommend the fairs to all my friends.”

 

 

The S.E.T. Fair is for students and alumni seeking internship, co-op and full-time positions in the fields of Science, Engineering & Technology. There were 93 employers that recruited at the S.E.T. Fair, and around 780 students attended the event. “I was blown away by some of the students I spoke with. Great resumes,” stated a S.E.T. Fair employer. A USC student stated, “I had such a wonderful time at the SET Fair. I realized that there are so many opportunities out there in the world for me. I need to keep on working, gaining more experience so I can be even more prepared for the next career fair.” Another USC student said, “The SET fair is an amazing opportunity to have nearly 100 employers in one room. I was able to talk with five companies that really interest me within the hour I had, and I was offered an interview on the spot!”

The next Career Fest and S.E.T. Fair is scheduled for January 29, 2014.

For a listing of upcoming job fairs offered by the University of South Carolina Career Center, please visit: http://www.sc.edu/career/

 

 

Leave a Reply

