Record nine NOAA Hollings Scholars at UofSC announced


Nine rising juniors at the University of South Carolina have been chosen as 2015 Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholars. this year’s recipients, Kaitlyn Bretz, Jamie Clark, Justin DuRant, Melaina Dyck, Jory Fleming, Alexandra Golden, Phillip Key, Angela Korabik and Anna Lynn, bring the total number of UofSC Hollings Scholars to 34 over the 11 years of this national competition, with 16 won in the past two years alone. This is the largest number of Hollings Scholar’s that UofSC has ever received in a single year and makes the University one of the top Hollings Scholars producer of colleges and universities nationwide.

Participation in the Hollings Scholarship Program exposes rising juniors and seniors to the mission of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and to our nation’s long history of oceanic and atmospheric stewardship, reflected in the dedicated career of retired South Carolina Senator Ernest F. Hollings. Hollings Scholars are expected to become scientists, policy-makers, or educators in the future US oceanic and atmospheric workforce.

The winners may be reached via email for additional information and congratulations:

Kaitlyn Bretz
Jamie Clark
Justin DuRant
Melaina Dyck
Jory Fleming
Alexandra Golden
Phillip Key
Angela Korabik
Anna Lynn


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s